Google wowed onlookers last January when Google Translate for Android added a Conversation Mode, allowing English and Spanish speakers to speak into the app and hear instant voice translations. Amid some other big news today, Google has taken the Conversation mode out of Alpha and now works between fourteen languages. Unfortunately, both Klingon and Vulcan have been snubbed in the first round.

Conversation Mode now supports Brazilian Portuguese, Czech, Dutch, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Mandarin Chinese, Polish, Russian and Turkish, and of course, Spanish and English. New improvements to the app allow you to correct any mistakes in your native translation before having it spoken aloud. You can even zoom in on translated text to easily share it with other around you. Other small improvements, like an adapted Honeycomb interface, are welcome.
Check out the official video below:

The Google Translate app is available for Android phones running Froyo or above (which is almost everyone at this point) and is a free download in the Android Market. In addition to the new Conversation languages, it now does standard text translation in over sixty languages from Urdu to Latvian. Oh, and in case you were wondering, Siri can translate in as many languages as you want, so long as you only want English.

Follow @gogoogleandroid

Follow us on Google+


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.