WhatsApp’s messages delete or recall feature is now finally rolling out to beta users after a long wait. It’s not a completely new feature as it’s been seen before on other chat apps like Telegram, BBM and so on. But since WhatsApp is by far the most used messaging app, it is a really handy addition. So, here is a guide to let you delete Whatsapp messages.
First off, you’re supposed to be on the latest beta of WhatsApp to benefit from this new function. First, you will have to enrol for the beta program by accepting enroll conditions to it. The latest beta is v2.17.401+. Even after the latest beta, the feature is activated by a server-side switch, so if you still don’t see it, you’ll have to wait for it to show up.
Note: Messages must be deleted within a 7-minute time window. After this, you won’t be able to unsend them. Both recipient and sender must be on the latest version for this feature to work. And users might still see the message before you deleted them, so keep that in mind. Having said that, if you already have the feature, below is a guide to delete messages for different recipients.
How to recall or delete whatsapp messages for all recipients
- Simply, Open WhatsApp, and select the specific chat you want to unsend or delete the messages in.
2. Long press the particular message or messages you wish to delete.
3. Tap the trash icon on the top of the screen. You will now be shown three options
- Delete For Me
- Delete For Everyone
4.Select “Delete For Everyone“. Once done, the deleted message will be replaced by “This message was deleted” caption for everyone.
5.Tapping the “Delete for Me” option will erase messages only for you. Others will still be able see the message.
So, that’s it, folks. It’s pretty easy to recall or delete Whatsapp messages now. The feature should definitely soon make its way to the stable build since it’s been well accepted. We hope it does soon.
Follow Us on our Channels: